#51 New things with Old Friends…

“A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles” – Tim Cahill

So after nearly two years living in NZ, I went back to the Motherland to catch up with friends and family in the UK.

I cannot put into words how much fun I had. I was treated to sunshine, friends, food, drink, festivals, Christmas in July, wild camping, art and culture – all in a three week window.

While technically a lot of these experiences were things that I had experienced before, with people I had know, they were also ‘new things’, in the fact that this was the first time I had been ‘home’ following a prolonged period away.

There are things that I have really missed about home. My friends, pickled onion monster munch, decent marmite, real ale …the list can go on. But it turns out that some things that I thought I would never miss – such as the unfriendliness of Londoners, blowing your nose and getting black soot when travelling on the tube, and the queue at the bar at most pubs on a Saturday night – were things that I had missed after all. The first time someone was rude to me in a shop, or pushed past me in the street, it felt like ‘coming home’.

Food stuffs aside, the thing that I missed most about the UK is being able to see some of the best people that I know on regular basis. It was wonderful to spend time with my friends and family, and it is amazing that when you do see your good friends, it’s like no time has passed at all.

So, 3 weeks later, I have returned to NZ, broke and about 4kgs heavier than when I set off, but thankful to know certain people in my life, and grateful for the opportunity to see my friend and family.

The photo is from an art installation on the railway bridge in Southend on Sea, commemorating the 50 years since the decriminalisation of homosexuality in the UK.

Seeing new friends and catching up with loved ones is priceless, so – 5 out of 5 stars

 

 

Author: Buntys Blogspot

A one woman attempt to live life to the full.

Leave a Reply

